Technology

There’s a scary iPhone feature that erases all your data

انتبه.. آيفون قد يمسح كل بياناتك

For most people, setting up your iPhone to erase itself after too many failed password attempts sounds like a frightening idea – but there’s a very compelling reason why you should enable the feature.
Hidden deep inside your iPhone’s settings is the option to erase all the data on your phone after 10 failed passcode attempts. This option stays turned off for a lot of people, and for an obvious reason: if someone in your life tries to unlock your phone and fails too many times, there’s the risk of losing everything.

But as Daring Fireball’s John Gruber points out, it’s not that simple. Here’s how he explains the feature (emphasis ours):

“After the 5th failed attempt, iOS requires a 1-minute timeout before you can try again. During this timeout the only thing you can do is place an emergency call… After the 6th attempt, you get a 5-minute timeout. After the 7th, 15 minutes. These timeouts escalate such that it would take over 3 hours to enter 10 incorrect passcodes.”
So while it seems scary in theory, it’s highly unlikely that a child, significant other, or friend could accidentally erase all your data. On the flip side, turning this feature on could protect your phone’s sensitive data from falling into the hands of the bad guys if it’s lost or stolen.

Here’s how to turn it on: open Settings, then scroll down to Touch ID & Passcode. You’ll be prompted to enter your passcode, then scroll down to the bottom until you see Erase Data and toggle it on.

source: businessinsider.co.za

يضم آيفون ميزة “مرعبة” بإمكانها حذف بيانات الهاتف بأسرها في حال تم إدخال كلمة مرور خاطئة مرات عديدة، وعلى الرغم مما قد يبدو عليه الأمر فإن عليك تفعيل هذه الميزة.

ففي أعماق إعدادات هاتف آيفون يختبئ خيار حذف كافة بيانات هاتفك بعد عشر محاولات فاشلة لإدخال كلمة المرور الصحيحة، ويظل هذا الخيار غير مفعل للعديد من المستخدمين لسبب واضح، فإذا حاول أحد أفراد أسرتك فك قفل الهاتف وفشل بعد محاولات عديدة فهناك خطورة بأن تفقد كل شيء.

لكن الخبير التقني من شركة “ديرينغ فايربول” جون غروبر يقول إن الأمر ليس بتلك البساطة، وتاليا تفسيره للميزة:

“بعد المحاولة الفاشلة الخامسة يطلب نظام التشغيل (آي أو إس) دقيقة واحدة مستقطعة قبل أن يتيح لك التجريب مرة أخرى، وخلال هذا الوقت المستقطع فإن الشيء الوحيد الذي بإمكانك فعله هو إجراء مكالمة طوارئ فقط إلى الرقم 911، وبعد المحاولة السادسة الفاشلة ستحصل على وقت مستقطع مدته خمس دقائق، وبعد المحاولة السابعة سيرتفع الوقت المستقطع إلى 15 دقيقة، ويتصاعد هذا الوقت إلى درجة أنك ستحتاج إلى أكثر من ثلاث ساعات قبل إدخال كلمة المرور الخاطئة للمرة العاشرة”.

وعلى الرغم من أن الميزة تبدو مرعبة نظريا فإنه من غير المرجح أن يقوم طفلك أو أفراد أسرتك أو أصدقاؤك بحذف كامل بيانات هاتفك بطريق الخطأ.

في المقابل، فإن تفعيل تلك الميزة قد يحمي بيانات هاتفك الحساسة من الوقوع في الأيدي الخطأ إذا ضاع هاتفك أو سرق.

ولتفعيل تلك الميزة توجه إلى “الإعدادات” (Sittings) ثم مرر إلى الأسفل حتى “هوية اللمس ورمز المرور” (Touch ID & Passcode) وسيتم عندها تنبيهك لإدخال رمز المرور، ثم مرر إلى أسفل الصفحة حتى ترى “احذف البيانات” (Erase Data) وفعّلها.

Like
Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry
Tags

Related Articles

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Format
Close
Close
X